• Linked in badge

    View Fred Schechter's profile on LinkedIn
  • ds4tool del.icio.us links

  • Freds4hb Photos

Stealth mode is very frustrating

stealth mode,, hide in plain sightWell, I’ve been in stealth mode for,,, years.

Why? Why would I not put it all out there, on the line, and say

Hey!

Look at me toss out idea after idea that doesn’t work!

Oh, yeah,, that’s why.

So coming out of my little shell is a tad odd. There’s a lot to do, and a lot still to be done. Part of this is all just one big “Note to self”. The rest can be chocked up to self serving whining, and offhanded mild publicity attempts.

Like you, I read all the “web marketing”, “Web 2.0”, “social networking” things.

I can be found on Facebook, Myspace, Coroflot, Orkut, Friendster, Linkedin, Cork’d, and a bunch of others I can’t even think of right now.

The problem is, there are so many ways to “be out there,” yet, with “being out there.” What’s really going on? Do you have something to really sell? Are you running a business, or just having fun (and being silly?) Silly is fine, especially if you’re focused on silly,, sometimes, silly is best.

But to do that, you’ve still got to have the knowledge to know just where you’re going with it (plan your silly just a bit here).

As much as I’ve “planned” what I’m going to be doing here, it’s still not as solid as I’d like it to be. I design products and sell them. Personally I prefer to license them to large companies and bootstrap my projects by having big companies buy and sell them. It’s a win win for them, they get a different type of product that is thought out, manufacturable, and works with their current product line. While I get rewarded for my efforts.

I’ll elaborate much more about my process as we go on, but this leads us to the next upcoming post “Not Invented Here Syndrome” and what to do about it.

Also, we’ll deal with the realities of “too many clubs” or put another way,, even if you’re a member everywhere, what should you do with it, and is it worth it?

Cheers!